Counting my Apologies

EverydayEndeavorsRN

“Sorry, but I have to hook you up to telemetry” I say, as I try to hook my patient up to a telemetry box, and she gives me a “Tsk”.  She just transferred to my unit from another unit after her dialysis finished.  Of course she was tired from dialysis and was trying to get some rest, but I had to put some patches on her chest and hook her up to a monitor so that I could see what her heart was doing at all times (Dr.’s orders too, ya know).  As I look out for my patient’s best interest, I found it almost silly that I had to say sorry just so that I could go about my nursing task.

I think about all the other times I have said sorry to patients or their families.  Sorry for having to wake up just to check your vital signs…

View original post 217 more words

Leave a Reply

